Skip to content

Canadian Urbanism Uncovered

2016 Heritage Toronto Awards


Read more articles by

heritage-toronto-logoThe  Heritage Toronto Awards celebrate outstanding contributions in the promotion and conservation of Toronto’s history and heritage by professionals and volunteers. The winners were announced on October 17, 2016.


  • Toronto East York: The Friends of Fort York and Garrison Common
  • Etobicoke: Lakeshore Asylum Cemetery Project
  • City-Wide: Jane’s Walk
  • Members’ Choice: Lakeshore Asylum Cemetery Project


  • Award of Excellence: Finn with an Oyster: The Story Behind Toronto’s New City Hall
  • Award of Merit winner: Retrontario


  • Award of Excellence: The Ward: The Life and Loss of Toronto’s First Immigrant Neighbourhood
  • Award of Merit: Civic Symbol: Creating Toronto’s New City Hall, 1952-1966
  • Honorable Mention: Then & Now: T.O. Nightlife History, by Denise Benson


  • Award of Excellence: Historicist: Sticky Business, by David Wencer from Torontoist
  • Award of Merit: Why I Love Ghost Signs: The Fading History of Toronto’s Industrial and Retail Past, by Stephan Petar form Why I Love Toronto
  • Honorable Mention: Reflection on Pride’s Political History, by Erica Lenti and Samira Mohyeddin from Torontoist
  • Honorable Mention: Cultural Heritage Landscape of Leaside, by Kim Auchinachie, Geoff Kettel, Connor Turnbull, Paul Dilse


  • Award of Excellence: Standard Bank of Canada at 324 Broadview, David Jensen & Jason Smirnis (owners & architects – Building Arts Architects Inc.)
  • Award of Excellence: The Don Jail, Bridgepoint Active Healthcare (Owner), ERA Architects, Stantec Architecture, KPMB Architects (Planning, Design and Compliance Architects), and VG Architects, HDR Architecture, Diamond Schmitt Architects (Design, Build, Finance, Maintain Architects)
  • Award of Merit: Church of the Redeemer, ERA Architects (Heritage Consultants), Clifford Restoration Limited (Heritage Contractor)
  • Award of Merit: Imperial Plaza, Camrost-Felcorp (Owner), Onespace Unlimited Inc. (Architect), ERA Architects (Architect )
  • Honorable Mention: 441 Queen Street West, The Pearl Group of Companies (Owner)
  • Honorable Mention: 2532 Yonge Street, Edgecombe Realty Advisors, Inc. Owner
  • Honorable Mention: Hermant Building, 19-21 Dundas Square, HNR Properties Owner


Carolyn King, former Chief of the Mississaugas on the New Credit First Nation

Heritage Toronto is honoured to name Carolyn King as the recipient of the 2016 Special Achievement Award, in recognition of her decades-long efforts to preserve the Mississaugas of New Credit First Nations’ community and to celebrate and share First Nation heritage in the Greater Toronto Area.

photo by Richie Diesterheft